D77

By D77

Worlds Apart

A glitch in logic from whoever makes up stupid rules in Egypt dictates that the letter of recommendation from my previous employer in Oman must (despite being clearly written on official headed paper, with official business stamps, and official phone numbers and email addresses on which to contact them) be stamped by the British Embassy before I am entitled to such luxuries as a paid holiday and medical insurance. Now, it's hard enough to get the British Embassy to do anything, let alone stamp a letter from an employer, and when they refused, I wasn't surprised.

This is of no concern to the stupid rule makers though, and in a last ditch attempt to try and get people off my back about this, I turned to the Omani Embassy. After explaining my story, the very nice lady at the Omani Embassy saw straight away that this was a big pile of nonsense and that nobody in their right mind would officially stamp a plain old letter (something I've articulated many times to my HR people).

But do you know what she did? She took them away and stamped them anyway - 'just to help me out'.

Wow.

Whilst she was sorting all this out for me, I got to sit in the Poshest Room In The World, complete with gold tables, gold chairs, and even...I kid you not...a gold air-conditioner.

I LOVE the Omani Embassy.


---> Video - Omani Gold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.