The Curious Case of K.B.

...or Kumar Bhupendra, as his birth certificate says. Say hello to KB - my buddy from the undergrad years. He is a PhD student in Univ of California, San Diego and is currently on his vacation to India. He planned his vacation such that he can attend the wedding of one of his closest buddies from college - the reception that I went to last night. We are meeting after a gap of 8 years. He is leaving tomorrow and I invited him to stay over at our place for tonight. There was quite a bit to catch up we ended up talking for hours.

He is a changed man - a lot different from how he was back in college. It seems the clock is running backwards for him. He is getting younger (wiser?) by the day. He has more hair on his head than he probably ever had. He has less grey hair than what he had in college. His memory is improving...back in college, he was an epitome of absent mindedness. The stories of his absent-mindedness are still exchanged whenever any of us (the batchmates) meet. He seems to be much better now (he remembers his name). His diction has changed. He has 'developed' an American accent and sounds cooler than ever before. He is of course richer than he was 8 years ago. If he keeps going on at this rate, in a couple years from now, he would be selling like hot cake with young women and desperate housewives going crazy after him! :)

Also, he is the first guest that we're having over after marriage. Since he is a college-time friend, we didn't have to worry too much about preparations and formalities. But still, it was an exciting 'event' for me and Mrs Adda. Though we were a little late coming back from office today, we got into action as soon as we entered the house. Sheets and pillow covers were changed, the new dinner set was opened, the red designer carpet was unrolled, dinner menu was decided. On a regular day, both of us cook, dine and clean-up together. But today, Mrs Adda took full control of the kitchen and did all the cooking and serving by herself, ensuring that I get all the time I can, with my friend. Even if I walked into the kitchen once in a while, she pushed me back, assuring me that she can take care of everything. Today's dinner was one of the best in the last couple of weeks. She was a great host today...and I, a proud husband :) I am sure I will be made to pay up for her services today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.