Not quite Hilda Ogden's wall...

The last couple of days have been busy, but in a good way. I've managed to work with staff, have productive meetings, solve some problems, and have some very engaging conversations with people.

Today, this song has been in my head since about 9.20, when I had the pleasure of watching and listening to a couple of our students rehearsing for a music assessment. This song is their chosen piece, and along with two other students who play drums, they brought a massive smile to my face. Not just because I love the song, but because they played it with such finesse. I love it when our students show us what they can do. I've discovered this morning students who sing beautifully, who play keyboard and piano with a seemingly effortless finesse and who, more importantly, support one another by showing respect and offering constructive, honest feedback about each other's performances. What a great job I have!

Otherwise, busy with teaching, learning new skills from my students, watching their confidence grow, seeing a little self satsified smile on their faces when they realise that they have something to offer to us as well as the other way round.

Came home, fixed a problem with a spreadsheet ( I know I said no more, but fortunately an observant colleague had spotted an error that I had made, which was a quick fix, but that needed sorting), heard news of a former colleague who has had good news himself, and went for a drive over to Pennington Flash to take some photos.

Having returned home, have discovered dust spots over almost all of my images of sunsets across the lake, which is a bit of a bugger. Have ditched most of them. Instead, opted for the very obliging ducks (in HDR), who didn't move an inch when I came and sat right next to them, no more than about a foot away. They stayed there for a couple of minutes, before getting up, doing a 3 duck shuffle and re-seating themselves in a different arrangement. They were lovely.

I was quite chilled, so the chavs boys who arrived and razzed round on their hairdryers on wheels didn't even annoy me. Although I did have a quiet chuckle when a REAL biker pulled up amongst them and they all crowded round, asked him questions about his bike and then he revved it up and it roared. Their little egos disappeared, with all that was left being the high pitched whine of their teensy weensy hairdryer engines screaming off into the distance. The biker got a big grin from me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.