gilliebg

By gilliebg

Roseate Skimmer

I spotted these dragonflies when I was photographing the cormorants the other day, and have tried to capture one on several occasions; I would have liked to get a facial shot as they appear to have comical white rings round the eyes; maybe another day. There was quite a heavy police presence around my inner city pond this morning, so I didn?t hang around incase there was a drug bust coming down, and people would start shooting each other!

Roseate males are unmistakable and breathtaking--a streak of purple or rosy-pink flying around in the midday when some other species are not about. They like ponds and quiet water, permanent and temporary rain pools, stock tanks, etc. They sit on guard on nearby vegetation, and patrol their stretch of water vigorously. The females are a drab brown, and not so easy to spot, nor so attractive to blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.