OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Common Tern

Not that common any more, just like most creatures with 'common' in their name. This was on Flotta pier and just ignored me. Not many people, I think, visit Flotta, because its main feature is an oil terminal. I wanted to explore an area near the terminal, so had to walk around it. I followed a track toward the tall chimney of a roaring oil flare, like a great silver dragon it was. I noticed, though, hundreds of deep purple spikes of northern marsh orchid by the path. I walked to Golta and a rather weird landscape of ruined concrete and iron bomb shelters from WWII. It was like a prefabricated neolithic village. I continued to Roan Head and made coffee at Tween the Wicks. Then round to overlook Pan Hope from Red Face. More pictures from the walk here.
Update: have now read that the 'shelters' were actually storage bunkers for anti-aircraft rockets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.