Whiting

I took my mate Brad fishing this morning. Our target species: Whiting. And we got plenty of them, ranging from fingerlings to this beauty, caught by Brad. I took him to the same spot I caught this Flathead last time I went fishing. It was still firing.

I recently made up my mind supply tackle and rods if I take my mates fishing. Firstly, an extra tackle box takes up extra room in the boat. Secondly, at least my friends can fish as soon as the boat in anchored rather than spending time rigging rods for the species and conditions. I get a great deal of enjoyment seeing my mates catching fish.

Between the two of us we caught maybe 50 fish this morning. All but three were not of legal size. 1 of the 3 was only just legal and I felt sorry for it and threw it back. So I brought home 2 quality whiting for the BBQ tonight. Well, I say 2 but Jo was put off at the sight of fish guts in the outside sink so she has decided to pass on fresh fish tonight. I suppose I will freeze one down for another day.

All in all it was a laid back Saturday. Well earned after two weeks of very busy work. I did find time to peg out the location for the BBQ area I want to build in the back yard. Expect blips of the progress over the next few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.