Courage Is The Price

By courage

A bird themed evening (of the feathered variety)

It was quite an idyllic scene as I walked home tonight, except for this mean scorrie who stared at me so threateningly I almost broke into a run. (I know a grown man who had to hide in a bush for an hour because a scorrie wouldn't stop attacking him. I laughed a lot when he told me.)

Then when I turned the corner there had been a car smash and there were police everywhere. Nasty scorrie was an omen I thought, a harbinger of disaster.

Insane paranoia aside, I was pleased to get home to a night of wine, pizza and football. It was nice to have the house to myself for a while.

One glass of wine later, I decided to work on my website. As a newbie to Illustrator I found that intoxication actually helped - it gave me the confidence to push buttons and see what happens.

After two glasses I became distracted by an online tutorial 'How to make an origami swallow' (as you do). I'm the most slapdash person in the world but I had a go.

After a whole bottle of wine I found myself freely talking to my cat (unimpressed) and the nice man from the tutorial (bearded professor), surrounded by torn up pages from Elizabeth Gaskell's North & South.

The final artwork looked less like a swallow and more like a page of a book that had been folded up many times by a drunk person.

My cat by this point had given me a withering stare and gone to bed. I dare say Gaskell is spinning in her grave too. Sorry Gaskell, but let's face it, you're no Jane Austen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.