somewhat suspiciously

I am no stranger to peering suspiciously at things and people so it's not really surprising that the wingpiglet should peer at me with suspicion mixed with slight distrust and wariness. As far as he's concerned at the moment I'm the scratchy bearded face which occasionally takes him from a nice warm place onto the relatively cool and unfluffy changing-mat, removes his nice warm clothes and wipes him with a relatively cool wipe before replacing the warmed-up nappy with a non-preheated replacement. As he's mostly asleep in the mornings I tend to appear at the end of what must be a confusing day for him in a slightly sweaty state, wearing a shiny helmet instead of a normal head and frequently sporting additional forms of the various cycle-path-inhabiting beetle and fly stuck to my sweaty face. He might also have recalled that T-shirt as the thing to which he was attached to in order to be taken outside and paraded through the streets when he became upset in the late evening earlier this week. In order to combat such potential impediments to an effective parent-child relationship (I'm very wary of how being associated with a very short and only slightly unpleasant experience can initiate years of upset, as with Edgar's cousin Cameron who was frightened of me for years after I carried him from a car to an house through five seconds of rain, which woke him up and imprinted my face in his Beware list) I got to administer his first portion of expressed milk from a bottle later in the evening which should hopefully increase my trustability through acquisition of status as another potential source of food besides his mother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.