Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Adriatic sparkles [Croatia, Day 8]

It isn't the sort of thing I'd even dream of doing at home, but today I took a notion and went for a long cliff walk, all the way from Makarska to Tucepi (where we went by bus the other day). All the guide books mention this walk, though the reality is a lot less straight-forward than the written descriptions in terms of knowing whether or not you're on the right path. Still, it was another glorious day, Carl had opted not to venture out, and I actually hugely enjoyed the experience. Confusion with the trails and a lack of signposting, which reminded me all too clearly of our casual approach to this sort of thing at home in Ireland, meant that I had to backtrack from a dead-end cove back up the main track again, all of which made the walk take longer than it should. I wasn't complaining. The views were quite stunning, and the sea (crystal clear and a deep, deep blue) looked wonderfully impressive along the route, which was quite precipitous in places. (Incidentally, the blip is straight from the camera, no Photoshop trickery involved.)

I got a taxi back in order to meet up with Carl at our appointed mid-afternoon time. The rest of the day was uneventful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.