Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

A lifetime of stories

Watched the parade for Armed Forces Day - soldiers, sailors and airmen old and young, past and present marched from the Castle Esplanade down the Royal Mile.

This wonderful chap caught my eye, with that chest full of medals. Maybe some blippers can tell what they are for? I was just struck by what a life he must have had, and the stories he could tell. I wonder if he does, or if he is like many old soldiers, who seem to prefer to leave them untold.

Got quite emotional actually - made me think about my Grandad, who was in the army in WW1, and my Dad, who was RAF in WW2. After meeting those two Brigadiers yesterday, it has made me reflect on our relationship as a nation with the armed forces - its a complex thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.