a town called E.

By Eej

And so we beat on, boats against the current ...

The day started with a late-birthday breakfast with my Solstice Sisters at East Egg. I didn't ask if they took their name from the Great Gatsby, but for the sake of my title we'll assume they did.
Breakfast in the restaurant went on to more chatting outside until I barely made it home for USA - Ghana. I could have saved myself the trouble, really. Though I'm also glad Ghana won.

After dinner we headed out for a sunset. I was in need of colour (see yesterday) and we hoped for something spectacularly orange. South Haven is always really busy in the summer and it being a saturday certainly didn't help, but we found a somewhat quiet spot away from the pier.
I played in the sand, the Beloved dammed up a river. Acting your age is SO overrated ;)

The ship you see sailing into the sunset is the Friends Good Will, a replica of a 1810 sloop that does cruises on the Lake (through the Michigan Maritime Museum in South Haven). We don't have the money for that at this point (it's not cheap), but one day ... and then I'll include a bit more of her (original) history.

It was a lovely evening, and I'm hopeful next week will be good to us.
We need it, we deserve it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.