Eleni

By eleniecc

A rose bush full of memories

We used to live in Cardiff. In a fairly typical semi in a fairly typical suburb.

Nothing wrong with that of course! But....for us it felt wrong. We felt trapped, crowded, claustrophobic and unable to relax with so much going on around us.

So we decided to take a bit of a gamble. We stretched ourselves financially, we moved 60 miles away to a place we didn't know, (and we still had to commute to Cardiff for work) and bought a huge doer upper of a house with ten acres!

That was over 7 years ago and despite many challenges and some panics and difficulties along the way, it is one of the best things we have ever done.

So....where am I going with this I hear you ask?

Well, my parents bought us this rose bush as a house warming present. A tiny thing it was then. I haven't got a good history with plants. Not so much green fingers as black thumbs. However, the rose bush, as you can see, has thrived despite me.

Today it just looked so pretty in the evening sun with the hay meadow behind it and it reminded me of when we first moved in, how far we have come and of my dear old Dad that chose it for us.

It made me smile and brought a tear to my eye so I just had to blip it. :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.