dailykeith

By dailykeith

Art and soul

I've blipped before about Cheltenham's occasional pomposity, but there is one wonderfully egalitarian event in the town that I look forward to every year - the open air art show in Montpellier Gardens.

For four weeks the work of local artists is put on show - the display changing each week.

The beauty of the event is that it is open to all artists - from beginners through to professionals - and is on a first come, first served basis, irrespective of the perceived quality of the artist's work.

Some years the work really excites me, although I can't say I was reaching for my credit card too often on this particular visit.

I was told at school that I was hopeless at art. But since I left all those years ago I have wanted to pick up a brush and have a go. It's never really happened, and I think photography might be that creative side manifesting itself in a different way.

But I have become more and more keen to view art and, as well as local exhibitions like this, I have been to some wonderful galleries in the past year - Madrid's trio of the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia, plus the Musee d'Orsee in Paris, have been particular favourites.

Creativity is so inspiring - whether via the lens or the pallet and whether it's a work by Goya or a college student.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.