surely you can see

By petergarver

I don't take many instinctive photos. Most of my pictures that I actually like are carefully chosen moments in prepared situations (of people) or carefully composed, thought-through tripod-mounted exposures of things.

I just sorta saw this and shot. And for just a second, maybe, I had a glimpse of what it must have been like inside Garry Winogrand's head. No genius, of course, but I'm sure he couldn't feel his talent; he just felt the spontaneous moment of seeing and pressing the shutter.

This shaky, poor-by-all-accounts picture is sort of an inspiration to me. The carefully composed, tripod mounted pictures of things I took today aren't. I'll try to keep that in mind.

edit: I chose this image because it excited me, but I realized that this instinctive shooting, so different from what I always do, is the opposite of me! It's an inadvertent assignment blip, and quite a revelation as well. Great success!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.