The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Adapted adapter

I bought one of these a while back so I could use my Canon lenses (wide open only as no aperture ccontrol) on the GF1. I wouldn't recommend this particular adapter. Firstly the bayonet springs hadn't been finished so the lens wobbled on the mount. This was pretty easy to fix using a small screwdriver to bend them out.
The second problem wasn't so easy. They had manufactured the thing with a depth of 23mm where it should be 24. This meant that my 10-20 wouldn't even focus and all the other lenses would only focus on infinity with the focus ring set much closer. I emailed the supplier and they said they could not see a problem with any they tried (what a surprise!) but that I could have my money back if I returned it. Eventually I decided it was less hassle to hacksaw it in half, make and insert a spacer (old hang glider tubing is perfect for this) to bring it up to 24mm and glue it all back together with JB Weld. I can recommend JB Weld. Wonderful stuff.
I wasn't that accurate though and it now measures 24.1mm. Hope the little bit beyond infinity that most lenses seem to have will compensate for this. Haven't tried it yet - waiting for JB to set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.