Roly's Life

By Roly

Orange

I could never understand why the RNLI did so many collections in Banbury - about as far from the coast as anywhere in Britain - so unlikely to have many sinking ships. I now walk past this lifeboat several times a week now. Today I called in to their shop to find out some more.

I think I knew but didn't comprehend that the RNLI is an independent charity - much like the Air Ambulances in this country. It receives no money from the Government. Although there are some employed staff, it is mostly volunteers. The majority of men and women who crew the lifeboats are doing it for free.

As well as the lifeboats, the RNLI also provide lifeguards on many of our beaches, currently 150 around the British coast. Without realising it, several of the beaches we used to go on holiday to are RNLI lifeguard beaches.

Presumably I am not alone in taking this service for granted and not "getting" why the RNLI needs the support of the whole nation, not just the coastal areas.

I am not sure how much I am allowed to put on here - but google RLNI and find out more for yourself - they have their own website which makes for interesting reading.

Oh and the theme for today is orange!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.