SOUTH BY MIDWEST

By southbymidwest

How many licks does it take to get to the center..

I know I've been offering a lot of apologies lately for blurry photos, but this one I just HAD to include! We have known for a while that there was an owl living in the neighborhood, however, this is the first time we have seen it. I was in the kitchen and saw a flash of wing outside the window... I had no idea what it was at the time, but I knew it was big. After scouting out the trees for a while we finally spotted it. I had my wife keep watching it while I ran inside to put together my only setup capable of capturing it:

Olympus E-P2 + Pen Adapter + 2x teleconverter + 100mm 3.5 Pen lens

Considering my camera has a 2x crop factor when compared with 35mm, that means I was using the equivalent of a 400mm lens... hand-held! No wonder it turned out blurry. Anyway, I love the shot regardless. What a cool barn owl!

SHOT NOTES: Shot at f3.5 hand-held. In post I auto adjusted the levels of the raw file and then bumped up the fill a bit. The shot was taken after the sun was down, but there was still some ambient light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.