On My Doorstep

By bwhere

The End of an Era

The daily things we do
For money or for fun
Can disappear like dew
Or harden and live on.
Strange reciprocity:
The circumstance we cause
In time gives rise to us.
Becomes our memory.

Philip Larkin 1979.

I have for some time now wondered why I am doing this, blipping every day. I have been going through a bout of Blipfoto Malaise. But with the response I have had on the Forum I have at least decided to stick it out until I pass 100 blips. But I have resolved to try and record only things which have some significance for me. So that after 100 blips or even 365 I have a journal that has given rise to me.

This Show board is one of 8 that I hand-painted 8 or so years ago. Every year since I have repainted the date on all the boards before they have taken their place alongside busy East Yorkshire roads. Every year, that is, except this one! No one contacted me this year (not even to let me know I could stand down) but the boards appeared anyway. Really I am pleased as I was running out of matching paint. But nevertheless it is the end of an era.

It is an illustration of the "circumstances we cause". But sometimes what gives rise to us needs to change.

By the way, it is Larkin 25 time in Hull this year. It is 25 years since he died. So expect more quotes from him. He was the University Librarian when I went to Hull in 1964. But that is another story ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.