Kendall is here

By kendallishere

New toy

Got a new lens today--a 35mm f1.8. I've been on a Cartier-Bresson kick lately, and the best I can figure, if he were shooting with a digital camera, that's the lens he'd be using. For everything. No zoom. No cute tricks. Just good glass. You compose with your feet. But it was pouring rain and gray out, so I was stuck practicing with my new toy indoors. The prettiest thing in my house is my little cat, but she was really annoyed with me. I hopped up on top of the bookcase to get a shot of her in her bed by the window. "Go away and let me sleep. Get that camera out of my face," she said. But the lens picked up her textures, her whorls and blends, her ticking, her dander, her loose hairs, every little detail. Makes me sneeze to look at it. I was dreaming of a macro lens, but that would cost nearly three times as much as this baby. So for now, it's 35mm. Today's my first day shooting with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.