Sailfish

By sailfish

Zeus!

In nine years of diving I've never seen a John Dory . . . I've been on dives where other buddy pairs have got out of the water and said excitedly "Did you see the John Dory?", but no, not me, always in the wrong place at the right time.

Today I saw my first ever John Dory, or Zeus Faber Linnaeus . . . and NO CAMERA, ARRRRRRGH!! I am so, so annoyed with myself.

He was beautiful in a flat and spikey kind of way, he drifted slowly along the reef, did a few twirls (for my buddy's camera) and then sauntered off over the sand.

I am never, ever going near the water again without a camera!

Here's a picture of one from the Photographic Guide to Sea and Shore Life of Britain and NW Europe, taken by someone who took their camera, bah :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.