Plus ça change...

By SooB

Gentle Giants

There's something very reassuring about heavy horses. We were up at Haddington Show today where there was a fine array of horses, cattle and tractors. Great fun. Here's a mare and foal wandering by.

This was, of course, just one of a series of displacement activities to avoid making a serious start on the packing. I also managed to justify:

- reading the Guardian from cover to cover (well, I don't want to lose touch with the world)
- cleaning a floor (can't leave the place in a state)
- doing all the crosswords I could find in the papers in the recycling bin (staving off dementia)
- sorting through old photos on the computer (that's sort of like packing)
- watching Top Gear (no, there's no justification for that. Save the amusement of my son (5) saying "are they real men or made up?" about the presenters)
- starting a new book (I'm currently on a bit of a reading marathon, reading a couple of serious books at the same time and several page turners consecutively.)

They all sound quite reasonable to me. And after such a busy day, a glass of wine I think (that'll be one less bottle to pack).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.