Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

A Microcosm

Today we went to Devon to visit the Wonderspouse's parents. It had been a while since we'd seen them and they also had a bag full of presents they wanted to give us for my birthday next weekend.

Driving for 6 hours or so was the last thing I felt like doing today - even going downstairs this morning the sweat was pouring off me (not from heat, but from whatever it is I'm fighting off at the moment) but I didn't deem myself ill enough to cancel, so I dosed myself up with loads of potions and off we went.

It was actually a pleasant day, aside from feeling a bit rubbish and having to sit in a massive traffic jam on the M5 (I invented a daft poem to amuse myself while we waited). The in-laws were very pleased to see us, and had made a splendid lunch of mutton tagine with rice followed by pudding with raspberries for afters.

We had a tour of their garden, which is looking lovely at the moment, and my Father-in-law took me upstairs to admire his latest guitar (he's as bad as I am with musical instruments). We also caught up on news and saw their new car, which is very splendid. I'm pretty lucky in that I get on very well with my in-laws - there's no "mother-in-law syndrome" here. In fact, we all get on really well.

The photo you see above is just a tiny sample of what their house looks like. My Mother-in-law is into books BIG TIME! Books, carved wooden things, and many many "things she saw and fell for" fill the house. Not a hint of minimalism. Their house makes ours look minimalist - and we're known for the amount of "stuff" we have!

Our stuff has increased slightly as theirs has decreased today - we came home with a tub of leftover rice, a large lemonbalm plant, a bag of parcels for my birthday next week, and a patio set of 2 chairs and a table (which they couldn't use because they have so much outside furniture that the patio is full)!

Now it's Lemsip, ibuprofen, inhalers etc. and bedtime for me. Energy is spent for today.

Sorry about the rubbish commenting. Thanks for all the comments you've left on my blips. I'll get back to being a bit more efficient once I have a bit more energy dear blip friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.