a town called E.

By Eej

Lawton - Fireworks


Fireworks and the 4th of July weekend go together like gin and tonic, or like fireworks and December 31st in the Netherlands. Lots of small towns around here have their own display and they are kind enough to do them on different nights so we can see more than one.

I have a love-hate relationship with fireworks. I hate the smell, the sound makes me jumpy and I feel bad for all wildlife, having their lives disrupted by what must to them be the worst thunder and lightning they have ever experienced. But I love looking at it.
So, we took the lawn chairs, a year supply of 'skeeter repellent and went on our merry way.
Then we sat on a football field for over an hour, surrounded by screaming kids and yelling parents, looking in the direction of where surely the fireworks would start.
Like, right now.

Or, right now.

Now, maybe?

*sigh*

But eventually we got what we came for. Booms and bangs and fire in the sky.
So pretty.

Happy Independence Day, people :)


Quickest Blip ever. I may have better shots than this one, but it's 7 minutes to midnight and I don't want to backBlip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.