an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Its the New Black

We went to Debenhams in Southsea this morning.

I have to say it is getting worse and worse with every visit.

I remember going there as a child and it was magical, it had a a huge toy department and even the boring floors of clothing were at least like a proper department store.

These days the store seems to be being left to rot a bit, being fairly empty with few staff. You can only get in via two doors out of the four it has and the lifts hardly ever work. They have even gone to the extent of boarding up one of the elevators as opposed to getting it fixed now.

I remember at Christmas going to see Santa there as a boy where we went into a special room that was a big sliegh and the walls moved as it pretended to fly through the sky. As opposed to last Christmas where there was a Santa that occasionally sat in a gazebo by the toy department which is actually a corner that you paid £5 to see. (Obviousley I was with my children and did not go on my own)

Today I say that Game has now moved out as well. I know retail is suffering these days but is still sad to see a childhood memory slowly fall apart.

We bought some clothes for our children and as we got in the lift to leave I saw this which pretty much summed it all up for me that the Debenhams collection is these days a little bit bare!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.