walking in the city

By inthecity

Divas

Yonge & Dundas Square

I love public shows; the fringes get so interesting. I'm posting this a day late, July 4th, which Happy Independence Day to my American sisters and brothers!

Saturday: "Somewhere up on that stage, Chaka Kahn is belting out her big standards. It's public and it's free. The crowd is spilling way out of the square and into the streets (I didn't catch very well in this shot). MCB and I have found each other in the crowd (go text!) and by now have to stand way back at the Eaton Centre entrance. It's okay though, we can still see Chaka Khan's hair.
I feel for you!
I think I love you!


Next to hit this stage will be Macy Gray. I know! Holy, I love those crazy chicks; and she can do anything.

And a few blocks over at Queen's Park (the grounds of the Ontario legislature) things have been revving up for Cyndi Lauper's* free public concert starting at 9. How much can we take?! People have been pouring into the park continuously for hours.

My new hair-stylist (insert discussion) is in the crowd somewhere with his sister and his boyfriend all happy eating mushrooms. He told me that's what they planned to do tonight.

I have a discussion with myself about this: about why we (across cultures and times) take intoxicants, hallucinogens and other such. Are we all trying to dissolve our subjective walls? So the 'I' in here can merge with the world out there?

And I think, yeah. This is what the people want. This is exactly what thousands of people around me are doing right now--converging together from all points so they can be part of this awesomeness together. They're playing tambourines and dancing barefoot and sending instant messages world-wide. Around the park Spain supporters are honking and Germany supporters too, leaning out windows in traffic. Whistles and shouts barely audible over the sexy blues, because the band rocks and also Blues is where it's at.
This is what the people want.
I stand on the hill where I can just make out Cyndi Lauper's red hair; she's the size of a push pin. "

I should write more, but I'm heading downtown again to see some of the Pride Parade and check out the huge freakin street party on Church. I'm slathered in SPF 60 and brought a funky straw hat. I look forward to catching up with my blipfriends, have a great Sunday.

Happy Pride, Toronto!


* I could write a very long entry about Cyndi Lauper, and I may in the next few days. Very interesting artist and she was so undervalued during the early part of her career. That was my era. The early 80s, when I came of age, let's say. What a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.