The Wolf Journal

By wolfjournal

So you're actually telling me I am an egg?

A lazy one today; didn't even bother to get up from the lunch table to
get this shot, the only one for the day. Might have something to do
with the aftermath of yesterday's raggae night. There is a reason for
the tilted horizon by the way...

Said goodbye to the beach and headed into Accra once again, number 2
in Lonely Planet's Worst Cities in the World list, only behind
Detroit, a place which it might have on my personal list too actually
(I leave it to your imagination which city would be number 1 - maybe a
nice one for the comments: what is your worst city?). Accra is just
too crowded, filthy, noisy, polluted and plain ugly to me; I think I
lost another year of my life by inhaling all the fumes of ancient Tata
trucks in the daily mass traffic jams of the city. Although I admit it
does also have its charmes.

An encounter with an elderly car engineer in the trotro made me smile
and emphasized the friendliness of Ghanaians again. He helped me
pleasantly to find my trotro, we had a nice conversation about Ghana
and Holland, and he even insisted on paying the ride for me! Even
though that counts to no more than about $0,20, it still shows the
good nature of most Ghanaians I think. He explained that friendliness
by telling me a Ghanaian saying: "Treat strangers as you would treat
an egg". Though slightly weird, I think it is a pretty true saying,
one which we seem to have forgotten in the 'Western' world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.