Rawshootin'

By rawshooter

Looks strange but it works

(Tech alert: lots of nerdish photo talk ahead!)
I figured out a way to shoot like I had an image stabilizer in a lens without actually having one, and here is the proof. I took this self-portrait from barn window, which explains the dirtyness and also the double edges on some parts there. (So there is no movement-related fuzzines, but rather something caused by dirty double windows)

The lens I was using was 135mm f/2.8 manual focus lens. I used this small tripod against my chest. I bought it few years back for my first digicam and it began to see new use after I got myself this amazing little gem of a camera, Panasonic Lumix GF-1.

Because the effective field of view doubles on Gf-1, making 135mm more like 270mm, the shutter speed I used here (1/100th sec) was almost 2 stops slower than it should be on this kind of focal length. Also remember that Gf-1 does not have image stabilising system build in the camera body like Olympus m34 bodies.

The conclusion: using this type of small tripod against chest when shooting with longer focal length lenses (on relatively small camera) hand-held, works amazingly well! Little less so when shooting on portrait orientation, but I can recommend anyone of you to try it out yourself. It really works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.