no love lost

I had a spare half-hour at almost this time last year when a crowd gathered in Festival Square in front of the large-but-shite screen to see Murray get beaten in the tennis semi-final. Had it been half-raining again this year I might have paused for half-an-hour or so but when it's steamingly hot and horribly sunny the mere thought of hanging around outside disturbs me, even though there were plenty of spots in the intersection of the sets of locations in which the screen was visible, there were no large clouds of fagsmoke drifting past from the All Bar One's outside tables, the screeching of people at the All Bar One's outside tables was relatively inaudible and the sun was not beating directly down. However, even being close to so many people sitting out completely unprotected in the sun weirds me out a bit so I just trundled past and got this just in case I didn't get anything else. I doubt I'll have time to iPlayer any Wimbledon this year but if I do then I expect to be slightly disturbed as always by the clips of people sitting out in front of the big screen down there, where the sun is a few degrees more direct and the rate of face-reddening slightly higher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.