John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Handicrafts in Quito

I wandered in the immediate vicinity of my hotel in Quito today to have lunch and in search of a blip--there was no shortage, as you can imagine. I settled on this shot of a handicraft vendor--one of at least sixty in a large park next to the hotel. Each set of goods often seemed brighter than the last.

The park is quite large, and it was full of families enjoying an incredible collection of children's play apparatus of all kinds; most of them simply spread across the grass in the park. I'd never seen anything like it, but it was far too extensive to capture in a single image.

I hope to post one more blip tomorrow after our hummingbird outing, but the next day we fly to catch our boat around the Galapagos--thus no internet. We'll get briefly to an internet cafe in the middle, and I may be able to post something, but otherwise I'll backblip afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.