This Is Not A Dream

By Breeanna

Happy Birthday Evie! Our 4th of July Baby!

Today Evie is one year old and today we celebrate our country's Independence!

Last year my husband suggested getting a Belgian Malinois (MAL-IN-WAH) because he had been around them working as a bomb technician. They are popular in the military and police forces because they are very smart and have high drive. At first I didn't like her breed. I thought they looked kind of scary, but after doing some research I found some beautiful pictures of dogs similar to Evie. Once I made up my mind, I spent all my free time trying to find us a dog. I found Evie on a pet search website and drove 5 hours to pick her up. That was in November of 2009. That first night home, Evie bonded with me within the first hour, but it took a few days for her to trust my husband.

Evie is the sweetest dog I have ever known and I'm proud to have her in our family. She'll come sit on our laps and cuddle, yet when some one is near the house, she lets us know about it. She does have a lot of energy, so we have to be willing to throw her toy even after the 10th time of her bringing it back, but it's worth it. We don't have children yet, so she's our first baby :)

Today we went fishing at Loveland Lake. We wanted to let Evie run free on her birthday. She had a blast and it took her 2 1/2 hours to get tired and stop running around.

This is Evie trying to get a drink of water without falling in! It was really deep right there.

We are considering and looking for another Malinois. Evie needs a playmate and I want to have a boy Malinois this time :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.