Refining the Edges

By refiningedges

The Understory

I was in a bit of a funk today, so I made myself go for some exercise in the forest. I stayed a bit funky, except to say hello to people and pat their dogs on the trails.

I must say, I am quite surprised at my continued sadness about Mr. Birdie, the maimed Jay on my property. I still see him hopping around on the ground, looking unwell. He has taken to staying on the grass in the backyard. I even saw him trying to bury a peanut, the little soul. He seems to recognize me, as he does not seem frightened. But his spark has gone. I expect he will be taken by a neighbour's cat soon, if he stays on the ground. I thought of rescuing him, but there is no point in scaring him silly to satisfy my emotional state. For now, I am just leaving nuts and seeds around for him to find.

I can now distinquish between he and his mate. She is still around and standoffish, but healthy.

This is an emergency blip because I had nothing else. I turned and snapped it just before leaving the trail. Quite a nice pic, actually.

Back to work tomorrow after 5 days off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.