impediment

I believe I may have possibly spoken on this sort of topic once or twice before but please bear with me as this time it's for the assignment.

Some people like smart, shiny shoes and ironed trousery trousers.

I am not amongst them.

I have heard it said and read it written that clean, shiny shoes are important as they are one of the criteria evaluated by people when assessing one's character in both a social situation or formal interview. The apparent prevalence of this attitude or school of thought causes me some distress. There are other indicators besides shininess of footwear which indicate that someone has 'made an effort' for an interview such as their turning up on time or not picking their nose and farting throughout. Demanding shineyshoeness will merely create selection pressures in favour of people with impractical narrow feet with no sweat glands who walk slowly and that can hardly be a good thing. Is it right that I and my kind should be penalised for being more comfortable and working more productively when clad in comfortable, practical footwears? There's the health and safety aspect too; I'd definitely rather flee for my life down a fire escape wearing trainers than silly overlong trip-inducing smooth-soled office-shoes.

Enforcing shoeness upon those who do not wish it just means that the enforcing entity loses a few minutes' work at the beginning and end of each day by the need to change from comfortable outdoor walking-to-work feet to horrible unpleasant waste of money sit-in-a-chair-for-seven-hours feet.

I consider myself extremely lucky to have found the relatively comfy shoe-type shoes above for a mere £15 in the Clark's sale four years ago a week before my cousin's wedding. I don't wear them for work in order to preserve them for future occasions of suit-requirement. Not only do they fit my relatively wide feet without crushing them they are also only as long as they need to be and of a relatively unshiny finish, mitigating their shoey-type shoeness.

I still put them on only grudgingly and do not enjoy wearing them.

Somewhere out there are people who enjoy the brisk glisten of a well-polished pair of impractical ungrippy impossible-to-run-in sweat-inducing micro-laced slippy shiny shoes as part of their wardrobe.

Each to their own. They can take theirs and shove them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.