Solitude....

I find myself wondering why I still cannot recognise the early signs of being overloaded, overstimulated.....but when i finally feel the cells in my body vibrating at such a level as to render me in a state of unease...nothing soothes the unpleasant feelings of too much input and not enough solitude! And it's not like I live in an urban, busy...chaotic place...it's quite the opposite, and so i think i 'shouldn't' feel overwhelmed, i mean what do I have to complain about! And it's not like the events i've experienced are unpleasant, all of them are totally lovely interactions, working in the studio, visiting with wonderful and lovely people...and still i get to a stage of 'enough'....i need solitude!

So, having identified this state of being very early this morning.....around 5.30 am....i still clung to idea of more sleep....nice and cosy bed, lovely warm partner beside me....but by 6.30 i was still buzzing, unable to return to sleep! So, i got up....took myself off to Baddeck for a coffee and muffin (even the tv and sounds in the usually lovely coffee shop set me on edge...) so i headed to Englishtown Bay! Found a quiet spot overlooking the water, and sat inside the car - it was raining quite heavily - had my coffee, did a bit of writing and by the time i'd finished with that, the rain had stopped and i headed onto the beach!

The smell of sea, the expanse of water, sky and hills.....and within an hour the balance had been restored! I walked around there feeling the air and watching the birds have their early morning feed....it was heaven!

And now, back working in the studio, i'm good to go....until the next time !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.