OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Forked stone

I headed out to Tankerness and walked the north shore of Deer Sound along to Gumpick, a promontory with a small cannon still waiting for privateers to sail into range. Then along the cliffs and past the Bacon Tub, a natural feature made by the roof of a sea-cave collapsing, leaving a large hole into which it would be pretty easy to stroll if your eyes were turned seaward as mine were. Lots of shag families on the cliffs and black guillemots, fulmars, bar-tailed godwits on the sands etc.
Before I reached the WWII camp at Rerwick Head and had my coffee, I saw this old fork head wedged onto a rock. After coffee I headed back along the road. The wind was now blowing strongly..and guess in which direction?

More...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.