One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Lone sunset walker

Not sure I have correctly phrased that one.
By lone walker, I meant that she is the only one walking.
But it does not mean that she is all alone. Far from it!

In the dark dark shadows of the pier, there is a guy with a DSLR and a tripod (troipod in North Dublinese) every 10 meters, with the look of someone who's just come up with the idea that a sunset shot of Howth arbour is a ground-breaking idea, and there isn't just a little bit of resentment in his visor-shaped right eye at the realisation that half of the camera clubs in Dublin have organised a field trip to that very spot that same evening.


Here is a sample conversation:

- Sorry bud, but this is my spot, it's my sunset, I saw it first.
- You gotta be kidding, roight? The perimeter around the lighthouse is mine. I bought it off that German bird when she left.
- I don't give a crap who you bought it from. See that red ring on that piece of glass? That an L lens, now piss off with your 350D
- You painted that red ring yourself you big show off, the ink ran there and there. I'll give you a red ring if you keep it up. A mighty (moighty in North Dublinese) kick in the arse is what you'll get if you don't shag off from my sunset shot.
- Amateur. I'm from the Royal Hibernian Camera club, see the badge there on my Crumpler?
- Do you have a blog? Do you have a BLOG? See that card. See the logo. That's a BAFTA mate. A BAFTA! (Scotland)
- [...]
- No more big airs there, you plonker. Now, get lost

[Noise of struggle. Double splash]

Incredible how a shared passion facilitates fruitful connections between like-minded individuals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.