Simple Pleasures

By shadymutton

Mrs. Fentons' Plate

Long ago, when children still addressed elders with MR. and MRS. there was an older lady, Mrs. Fenton, and her two grown daughters, Lori, and Alice who lived across the street from us. There was no Mr. Fenton and it seemed distasteful to ask about him. He was never spoken of, and that seemed to be the way they preferred it.

They were very friendly people, a quite proper and church-going family. Something about walking in their house always made me want to check my posture and wipe my feet...in a good way.

We saw the Fentons' often, working in the yard or garden, walking through the neighborhood or just relaxing in the yard with a glass of iced tea. Occasionally, we kids would go visit with out my mom coming along. It seemed the ladies were quite happy to have children in the house. They were more than eager to pull out old toys and items of interest for us to play with and explore. There were usually cookies or cake and ice tea involved along with lots of stories and chatter, all of which we accepted happily. This plate is one of the items of interest shown to me by Alice, the youngest daughter. I wish I had payed better attention to the story she told, but I was a kid with a cookie and couldn't be bothered by details. But the plate struck a cord with me. All I know about it now is that its a Godey Print from Salem...and the frame is Wrought Farberware.

Its been years since Mrs. Fenton passed. When I was asked if there was anything I wanted to remember her by - I chose this plate. The two Victorian ladies represent the formality of the Fenton home, and the two daughters who lived there with their mother all those years.

I don't know what happened to the daughters, but I do know they all touched my childhood and had an influence on who I have become. They are thought of often as I pass by Mrs. Fentons' Plate on display in my livingroom.

You never know who you'll touch in this life - be sure your touch is a kind one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.