LionelTownPO

By lioneltownpo

Running and walking

Two months ago, I decided, like many others I'm sure at the start of the good weather, to start *running*. I have always HATED running for running's sake, preferring to get my exercise from squash, tennis, cycling. But squash and tennis went by the board a long time ago and, frankly, the amount of cycling I've been doing just doesn't cut it...

So, ignoring all the advice of my friends about shoes, I climbed into the nearest set of "gutties" and, remembering my days as a rackets player, set off at breakneck speed. At 15 minutes, the hormones kicked in and I thought, I can do this! Thirty seconds later the first calf started to give in, and two minutes later the other.

Rested them a week and came out of my corner fighting. This time I lasted less than 10 minutes. Ignored everybody and tried again. Result? Hobbled about for a week feeling rather sorry for myself.

So tonight, new shoes in hand, calves completely recovered (6 weeks), I set out again, a little fearful it must be said, as I'm supposed to be doing some walking in the Alps next week.... Anyway, cut my expectations back a lot, ran for 10 mins walked for 10 mins, plus some warm-up and cool-down (warm up and cool down! Never did that before...) and the calves are intact.

All of which is by way of saying, I was in the Meadows and came across this scene...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.