spitzimixi

By spitzimixi

one memory card is not quite a camera

but it's a step in the right direction.
Last week I wrote that I'd be getting a new camera on Wednesday. I went to the shop where they were on special offer and I had a rather nice token for but they'd sold out...bummer. I was told to come back, they'd have a delivery on Tuesday (i.e. today)
Yesterday I was walking past another branch of this shop and thought I'd pop in to see if they had one. Nada. Delivery tomorrow, I should come back. I had to go back to the shopping centre today anyway to pick up something I'd ordered so, today I called in again. The guy behind the counter was friendly but said he didn't have one. I think my lip wobbled at this point and I kinda wailed "but I'm going on holiday on Saturday and I want to take it with me"...so, he started phoning around. Nothing, all sold out, they're on everyone's delivery lists but no one knows when they are coming. Everyone wants the super deal of two lenses, 100 Swiss francs off, free camera bag and 4GB card!! Of course they do! Another chain has the same deal but I have the token for this chain....bummer squared. Have I considered a Canon? Yes, don't want, like Nikon. Had I looked at the D90, also on special offer, just more expensive. Yes, it's the one I actually wanted but it's too big for my diddy stupid hands, that's why I want the D5000. Cue Elli doing a super sulk. Man tries another branch. Nothing. I wonder why he just doesn't give up? I hear him say "but my customer wants to take it on holiday" in a waily voice that matched mine. Then he told me that he is a camera-enthusiast too, that he can't bear the thought of me going on holiday without my new toy. I should leave my name and number and he'd carry on phoning round tomorrow - he'd get me a camera by Friday. One last call.."you have one? really? are you sure? check the number! with two lenses? yes, yes, put it to one side!!"
And, so, I have the set I want, for the price I want...he's going to go to town and get it for me tomorrow before he goes to work, phone me when he gets in (he's already told his boss he'd be late for work :-) and then I can go and get it. I did think about kissing him but he was quite young and I didn't want to scare him. I'll buy him a box of chocolates instead ;-)

at the moment this card is all I have to show for the money I spent, the snails represent the speed at which I buy a camera......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.