FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

Lavernock Fort

I made the trip to Lavernock Point today, hoping to photograph some excellent graffiti/art that I'd seen there before. Unfortunately, the place was heaving with half-naked, "sunbathing", middle-aged men. One of them was lying on the WWII bunker that houses the work I wanted to photograph, and I felt so uncomfortable that I just walked on further down the track to another structure I'd seen before, and thought quite photogenic.

This is it, Lavernock fort. I didn't know much about it until today - Wikipedia tells me it was completed in 1870 to house three cannons to protect the Bristol Chanel during a British/French war following the French Revolution. The number and types of guns changed at various points, and it was even used in WWII.

There's a lot of rust now, but the structure itself seems solid enough. Through the opening, you can see the island of Flat Holm. Marconi made his first over-seas radio transmission to Flat Holm, from another structure at Lavernock, not too far from this one, on 13/05/1897.

Here endeth the lesson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.