A Pic is Worth a 1000 Words.

By AgrawalKrish

I Shouldn't be Alive (4th Strike)

Successfully completed a Wonderful Trip & early morning started for airport. After security check I was all set to head back to my first stopover (Minneapolis, MN).

Couple of years back I saw the movie "Final Destination", After watching this movie whenever I get into plane I start thinking weird things like "Plane Crash", Explosion in the plane, "Plane going off the Runway", Plane getting broken into the pieces.. Delta Aircraft was moving on the runway & I was deep in my own thoughts. When plane achieved enough throttle to take off instead of flying up it was suddenly pulled back. For a moment I couldn't understand what went wrong. Captain announced that our Plane had Bird strike so they had to pull back the take-off. Everyone was so scared and it was hard to believe that it happened with us in real time. This incident took another 2 hours @ Rapid City and my connecting flight from Minneapolis to Fayetteville, AR was missed. After reaching Minneapolis I got another booking for 14:20 flight and finally reached home back @ 17:00.

I keep saying "I always feel Lucky". Here is whole episode.

1st Strike (Bus): In my childhood days I was crazy for Comic Books and used to rent at least 5-7 Comic books every other day. Since I was regular customer, I made better friendship with one of the Fellow @ Comic books stall. One fine summer morning he told me that he's gonna get a new release of a Comic Book which I was waiting for so long time. I was waiting for it so desperately that I couldn't wait for him to get that to his stall and then give me on Rent; Instead I asked me if I can come with him wherever from he's going to pick that book and then take that book immediately from there itself (in return to this favor I promised him to bring back the book as soon as I finish). He agreed and we both went to get the book, I didn't know double seat bicycle riding those days so was sitting back while he was driving it. One bus passed very close to us and he lost the balance.. he was thrown on the other side of the road and I slipped inside the Bus. it was matter of a second that I went inside the Bus just after the REAR WHEEL rolled forward, A seconds delay and I would have been crushed by Bus that afternoon.

2nd Strike (Pool): I didn't know swimming until 2003. We didn't have any swimming pool near our home and parents never allowed to learn swimming in POND or RIVER. During my stay in Delhi, India I came to know about a nearby pool & One Summer evening along with one of my buddies (Umesh) went to Pool (he didn't know that I don't know swimming also since I encouraged him to come along with me to swimming pool, he might have thought I know swimming). After taking shower we both headed towards Pool; I knew that Swimming pools always have SLOPE surface. I was very excited about swimming & moment I saw Swimming Pool just jumped into it (I thought I'm jumping in Lower end of pool), After Jumping when I didn't find the floor got panic but I couldn't do anything, I had no idea what to do now. I was drowning, whatever effort I made I couldn't come up even an inch, it must have been almost 10 - 11" deep so couldn't even take out my hands for help. On the other hand my friend thought I know under water swimming and he was waiting for me to come out. Later he realized that something is going wrong and he jumped to check me down. He saw I'm having trouble over there and he pulled me back to the surface. He laughed after knowing the fact that I don't know swimming at all and jumped here thinking it's Shallow side of pool.

3rd Strike (Car). I came to US in July 2007 and learnt the driving sometime Fall of the same year. I was a terrible driver but at the same time always interested to take unknown route and find out shortest path. I was lost many times during this expedition and had to drive many extra miles but never set back. Night before the New Year Eve It was raining and complete dark; I was driving whole long way straight, wherever I was finding turn I ignored and kept going straight. I drove for around 20-30 mins, at one point finally road was divided into 2 (left / right). I took right, gusty winds were blowing and whenever such chunk was kissing my windshield, making me unable to see anything outside. I was driving happily and enjoying the weather this was an unknown route to me; I never came here before. Car was going @ the speed of ?I don?t know I didn?t notice?. There was a sudden, complete 90? right turn that moment; which I couldn?t take and WHOOOP; I could see some tree leaves, branches and mud on my windshield and all the air bags of the car were blown out, Smoke started coming out of the car, I tried opening the door but ^#*@ it?s locked; I realized I?m in a DITCH. I had to break the driver window glass in order to come out of the car. It was perfect dark, I couldn?t see anything & I was standing in water? WHOOP its CREEK. I climbed it and wanted to call 911; "Holy &##@" no network coverage at all. Now now now, I?d recently met with a major most accident of my life, my car was in Creek, No network coverage, No one around and it?s raining (forget about cold). Next morning it took 1 hour to take out that car from Ditch.

4th Strike (Airplane): Today's Incident.

Huff lemme lay rest in peace.

PS: The pic is intensionally clicked blurred to bring that effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.