Diplomatic Diva's Delight

By diplomaticdiva

ANNIVERSARY

Five years ago today, suicide bombers attacked morning rush hour commuters in London. Fifty two people died and 700 more were injured. This blip is of the memorial to the victims in Hyde Park, London. There are 52 steel columns, one for each of the dead. Each column is engraved with the date of the atrocity, the time and the location of the bomb - so either Aldgate, Edgware Road, Kings Cross or Tavistock Square. I like this memorial, because although people of every colour, creed and religion were affected, the uniformity of the columns highlight that there are essentially no differences between us.

We might forgive, but we will never forget.

I was working overseas on 7 July 2005, and I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when the news started to trickle through. Because of the time difference, my colleagues and I had been ecstatically celebrating the news that London had been awarded the 2012 Olympics a few scant hours before the horrific TV pictures flashed up on the screen. We were devastated, but then so proud when Londoners refused to cower to the terrorists, and the very next day got back on the buses and tubes and trains.

London is fundamentally the same, but Londoners are so much stronger since that awful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.