Diptych

By diptych

Minarets and Antennas

Today was a long and tiring day at work. It was the first time I didn't even have time to consider taking a photo while downtown.

During a work lunch I was inside what is apparently an exclusive rooftop restaurant and lounge of sorts. The decor was beautiful - a combination of art deco and something of what Cairo must have looked like when it was truly a cosmopolitan city. The atmosphere was quiet with an air of arrogance. The menu didn't have any prices on it.

And there I sat, with my boss and a best-selling author, discussing the sorry state of the country, over salads, filled with walnuts and apples.

By the time I got my camera out, the sun was setting, and this image on the Cairo skyline struck me. A minaret surrounded by little antennas. I feel like there is a poem waiting in there somewhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.