Hooray!

Not my best photograph ever, but a momentous occasion! A year ago this weekend we went on a trip to Green Lake for my first attempt at swimming all the way across the lake. I did it, but I had an enormous amount of fear and I burst into sobbing tears immediately upon putting my feet on dry land. I believe I said something like "I am never doing that again!"

This year was night and day better than last year, and again, this bodes very well for my upcoming race. I was able to get into the lake and after a brief freak-out of just a few seconds, and a change to a lighter pair of goggles, I was able to just put my head down and swim out into the lake. We swam in long stretches from buoy to buoy. This is by far the BEST lake swim I have had to date. We shall see how the mind and the body will react in a race-day situation but this is a good sign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.