Sun Burns

I took the opportunity to wander round Queen's Park with Breagha today.

This was the nearest of Glasgow's parks to where I grew up and it is full of many memories for me.

Obviously some years have passed since I ran around there and many things have changed. There seems to be many places that are more overgrown than they used to be and many of the trees that I used to climb not as tall as I remember.

Much of the sporting amenities are unrecognisable too. The tennis courts, bowling and putting greens at my end of the park are now a football centre. At the other end there is still one bowling green, one putting green and the pitch-and-put, but they all look quite run down. There are no boats on the boating pond and the bandstand has been demolished.

I did find one new thing - The Poets Rose Garden, with memorials to Scottish poets on plaques, stone sculptures and rubbish bins.

Yes, rubbish bins!

As you can see some of the natives were making the most of the sunny weather - it never lasts for long. Hope he didn't stay out too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.