Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Wet 'n' Dry

We had a hosepipe ban enforced in the NW of England from 6am this morning, as rainfall for the the last 6 months has been so low.

The scene above is Dovestones Reservoir in Oldham. I was shocked to see how low the water levels had dropped since I was last there, just two months ago.

My Dad and I had a relaxing walk around the perimeter of the reservoir; we chatted as we walked, and of course, I took photos. It's a lovely place to go, with some great views. The craggy rocks to the top left of the photo are known locally as (Red) Indian's Head, close up it looks like a Red Indian chief's profile.

I was torn between this shot showing how low water levels are, and one of my Dad posing on a rock. When I asked him to stand on a rock for a shot - he jumped up (he's 74 and very slightly built) and stood in a 'manly' striding pose which really tickled me! Might send that to you P!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.