Things to smile about

By Maya

Busyness

Five weeks ago, armed only with what I knew I wanted, not at all how to go about it, a friend and I sat down and hatched a plan. Faced with the choice of either sending my daughter to school (currently she's being home-educated) and going out to find employment, or becoming self-employed so I could work around my daughter, I chose the latter but had no idea how or where to begin. All I knew was that I wanted it to involve my photography. Something that would allow me, a single parent with four children still at home (some taller than me now who won't much thank me for calling them children), to continue to spend the daytimes with my youngest daughter, incorporating taking photographs while we were out and about, and working in the evenings once she was asleep.

In the five weeks that have followed there has been much busy-ness getting my business off the ground. Most nights that has involved 2:30am bedtimes (after a crash course in how to use Photoshop properly via MSN!) and much yawning in the mornings. From the design stage, getting a website and gallery up and running (I take no credit for this ~ my lovely friend, a talented creative web-designer, sorted all this out for me... my only part being in telling him exactly what I wanted!), uploading photographs to my gallery, ordering prints of photographs, filling out forms, time sheets, coming up with new ideas, right down to finally ordering the components required to make up my cards, it has been a pretty full on five weeks. Ideally I would like the evenings to have another six hours in them.

Finally my card blanks, envelopes and cellophane bags arrived so today I set about making up some actual stock, so far it's all been talk and ideas whirling around my head with nothing concrete to show for it.

So this is today's blip... a photo of my photos, mounted onto cards and all bagged up ready to sell. Now all I need are customers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.