Pigs Eye View

By create

Whiskers on kittens...

Just back from three lovely nights away near Pitlochry with my father and my son. We stayed in a really nice small country hotel called East Haugh House Hotel with amazing food. Think I've put on about two stones in weight!

We had two days fishing on two Scottish hill lochs - Kinardochy and Bhaic.

The first we caught nothing but on the second day in one of my favourite spots on the planet (soooooo pretty) we caught six lovely rainbow trout.

Now, I love fishing and adore eating trout. But what I don't love is the fish suffering and really struggle to kill them. Thankfully my father isn't quite so sensitive and thinks I'm being hypocritical to make a fuss.

My son shares my feelings and the pair of us were standing holding on to each other singing 'My Favourite Things' from the sound of music to drown out the noise.

A distant memory mind you when the chef cooked us up three beautiful fillets this morning with butter and lemon juice drixzzled over them.

Our slightly barbaric day yesterday was topped off when we got back ashore and discovered the ground was absolutely covered with the tiniest, sweetest frogs imaginable. I made every effort to avoid them but know it was impossible.

Nature... and man... can be cruel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.