A slice of history

As the sun lowered I returned to nearby where I blipped yesterday's 'Arctic Queen'. These 3 old houses are some of the oldest in Christchurch. Originally they were close to a major landing quay (long gone) on the Heathcote River pictured here.

The red brick house on the left is lived in. The centre 'grander' house 'Rochester Villa', is run as a bric a brac shop, full of wonderful old second hand goods. M and I have a good poke around there yesterday. The owners don't live there but are open Wednesday to Saturday. In the warmer months they run a market (or 'garage sale' to meet deep and important council by-laws ;-) on the first Sunday of the month, with stall holders selling organic meat, artisan bread, devonshire teas etc. We'll be back to check it out.

The wee cottage on the right is lived in. We met Alan yesterday and I spoke with him again today. He is gentle, articulate and I suspect, lonely. Sadly he is often the target of abuse and is regularly terrorised but yobs and low-lifes at night. Sometimes I'm embarrassed to be a human.

Except for the first few months of his life, he has lived there all his life. At some point of his working life, things didn't go so well for him. If things go well the land he owns behind the cottage will be developed into home units. He'll reside in one temporarily while his cottage is demolished and something is built for him there.

I hope there is someone to look out for him and make sure he isn't being ripped off.

Alan regrets his home has fallen into a state of disrepair. He knows it could be quite traumatic to see all he has known bulldozed. His eyes it up when I asked if he would like a print of his home. I think he will be chuffed by whatever M and I have on our cameras.

But by the grace of God go I.

Extra nice viewed big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.