Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Birthday Lunch

Today was the actual birthday. The actual legal day when I change age! It was also full of celebrations!

First thing in the morning I penned a brief birthday pome, which can be seen here. I then had the usual pancake breakfast, phone calls from both my parents, and another big pile of parcels - this time from the Wonderspouse's parents. A new jigsaw, a book, a leatherbound notebook, a wooden pig guiro, and a collectible teapot were among the treasures of the morning!

By tradition, the Wonderspouse and I don't buy each other either birthday or Christmas parcels. However, we always have something a bit special to eat. His birthday is in the middle of winter, so it's usually a roast somethingorother, but mine comes at the time when samphire is in season, so I was treated to samphire and oysters for my lunch. Giant oysters they were too, and utterly delicious!

After lunch we set off for Birmingham to see the Welsh National Opera's producion of Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg, starring Bryn Terfel, who was absolutely MAGNIFICENT! It was a fabulous evening out!

The day finished about 2 in the morning after a slice of Banoffee Pie and a glass of wine!

Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.