Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Back Seat

Today was another birthday celebration! My parents took me out for lunch, which was absolutely excellent. I had dill-marinated salmon, followed by lamb shank, followed by sticky toffee pudding and custard. And since I wasn't driving and was with people who I trusted to get me home if I passed out, I washed it down with a pint of Hook Norton's finest!

I hardly EVER sit in the back seat of a car these days. It's pretty rare that I sit in the passenger seat, since I'm nearly always the driver, but today I took it one step further. It was almost like being a little girl again, sitting behind my mum while my dad drove - it's years since I've done that!

The only difference was that sitting next to me was not my little brother, but my stepmum. We did discuss whether we should have a squabble about the arm rest and ask those in the front "are we nearly there yet?" in a whiney voice, for the full nostalgic experience, but in the end stuck to chatting and discussing lunch instead!

As might have been predicted after such a good lunch and a pint, I came home and slept soundly for the whole afternoon! Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.